Industry now…

26 05 2008

Well in Animation class last Friday, the teacher said that the current trends of industry is that they are looking for animation… now I’m not too too bad at animation it’s just not my first choice of career.

I figured that once I finished my modeling reel, I can add some more animation and therefore have 2 reels, one to show off the modeling and another to show off the animation. I already have some idea of how I would like my characters to interact in the ‘animation’ part.

Also a few weeks ago I downloaded the ‘andy’ rig for animation class since it had more human proportions.  The hips are ‘broken’ and the arms are a bit funny, and the head is a bit big but all in all it’s WAY more proportioned than generi or bloke.

Personally I prefer generi’s controls and after talking to my animation instructor about the rigs, he said that with andy I’m produced my best animation so far.  I think my original theory about my needing human proportions on my rig to animate well was right… also it may be because I think andy is a more aesthetically pleasing rig so I’m happier working with it.

When I talked about andy’s disproportionate head ‘getting in the way’ my instructor said that I should stop thinking in terms of ‘the head is big and in the way’ and start thinking in terms of ‘this is what the movement is sort of like and now how can I make the rig do something similar’

-sharon


Actions

Information

Leave a comment